View mindmap
  • Piaget
    • Suggested two stages of moral development
    • 1. Hereonomous Morality (other law)
      • Moral awareness demonstrated by children aged 5-10.
      • People look beyond themselves for moral guidance.
      • They see rules as inflexible and expect immediate punishment when they break a rule.
      • An act is immoral through observable consequences.
    • 2. Autonomous Morality (self law)
      • Demonstrated by children aged 10 +.
      • Internalised/developed own set of rules.
      • Learn nature of rule making as a social construct for the benefit of all.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Ethics resources »