Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992

  • Created by: sair2215
  • Created on: 17-05-19 23:18



1862-1867- Plains WarsHomestead Act and Pacific Railway Act

1865: End of American Civil War 

1866: Civil Rights Act

1867: Congressional reconstruction 

1868: Ratification of the 14th Amendment:

1869: Several organisations established

1870: 15th Amendment

1871: Reservation policy begins 1871-1872: Testing of the 14th and 15th Amendment by women

1873: Molly Maguires Strikes

1874: Women's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU)

1975: Civil Rights ActMinor V Happersett 

1876: Battle of Little Bighorn

1877: Hayes-Tilden Compromise

1881: Tennessee segregates rail travel Booker T Washington Tuskegee Institute 

1883: United States V Harris

1886: Haymarket AffairAmerican Federation of Labor (AFL)

1887: Dawes Severalty Act

1890: Sherman Anti-Trust ActMassacre at Wounded KneeNational American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA)

1892: Homestead Strike 

1894: Pullman Strike 

1896: Plessy v Ferguson 

1898: Wilkins v MississippiCurtis Act

1902: Cherokee Nation v Hitchcock

1903: Lone Wolf v Hitchcock

1905: Lochner v New York WEB Du Bois

1909: National Association of Advancement for Coloured People (NAACP)

1911: Society of American Indians

1913: Congressional Union (CU)

1914: Clayton Anti-Trust ActFormation of UNIA 

1915: Birth of a NationBeginning of influx of AA's to North

1916: Congressional Union renamed National Women's Party (NOW)

1917: Some states give women the vote Birth control developments 

1918: National War Labor Board (NWLB)

1919: 19th Amendment 

1920: 19th Amendment ratified 

1924: Indian Citizenship Act

1925: Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters and Maids (BSCP) Established 

1928: Publication of the Meriam Report 

1929: The wall Street Crash

1930: Nation of Islam (NOI)

1933: The New Deal

1934: Indian Reorganisation (Wheeler Howard) Act

1935: NIRA unconstitutional Wagner Act

1937: Steel Workers Organizing Committee (SWOC)Congress of Industrial Organisations (CIO)

1938: Fair Labor Standards Act

1940: Executive order 8587

1941: USA enters WW2

1942: Congress of Racial Equality (CORE)

1944: National Congress of American Indians (NCAI)

1947: Taft- Hartley Act 

1948: Harrison v LaveenDesegregation of armed forces 

1953: Policy of Termination introduced Fair employment regulations 

1954: Brown v Board of Education

1955: Montgomery Bus Boycott (MBB) AFL-CIO merge 

1956: Indian Vocational Training Act MBB decision 

1957: Little Rock Nine 

1960: Sit-insStudent Non-Violent Committee

1961: JFK elected Affirmative Action begins Freedom RidesNational Indian Youth Council

1963: Equal Pay Act'The Feminine Mystique''JFK assassination Birmingham March on Washington 

1964: Lyndon Johnson's Great Society The Civil Rights ActThe Economic Opportunities Act

1965: Selma MarchMalcolm X assassination Race Riots 

1966: Black Panthers foundedNational Organisation for Women (NOW) founded

1968: American Indian Movement (AIM)Black Power at the Olympics

1969: Siege of Alcatraz 

1970: Occupational Safety and Health Act

1971: Occupation of Mount RushmoreNative American Rights Fund (NARF)

1972: Equal Rights Amendment Occupation of Bureau of Indian Affairs 

1973, Roe V Wade

1974: Oneida v Oneida and Madison Countries, New York

1975: Indian Self- Determination and Education Assistance Act

1976: Fisher V Montana 

1978: Religious freedom Act Indian Child Welfare Act

1980: United States v the Sioux Nation 

1981: PATCO strike

1982: Seminole Tribe V Butterworth

1984: Jesse Jackson Geraldine Ferraro

1986: Charrier v Bell

1988: Jesse Jackson again

1990: Union Apathy Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA)



No comments have yet been made