1.2 Practices

  • Created by: zosh.1301
  • Created on: 06-04-19 15:16

2.1 The Sacramental Nature of Reality

Sacraments- Outward signs that an inward gift of grace has been given by God

  • Sacraments of initiation
    • Baptism
      • CCC teaches that without it, a person can't receive any other sacrament
      • It washes away original sin so the baptised can receive salvation and enter heaven
      • It helps the person begin a new life, with the help of the Holy Spirit, as they become a full member of the Chruch
    • Confirmation
      • Only those who have been confirmed can take on lay ministries
      • It gives the strength of the Spirit to live a Christian life
      • The individual has their own choice to declare his/her belief
    • Eucharist
      • Unites the individual with Christ
      • Gives the grace to live a good life
      • Remembers The Last Supper
1 of 5

2.1 The Sacramental Nature of Reality (continued)

  • Reconciliation
    • Brings the individual into a closer relationship with God
    • The priest gives the individual absolution which gives him/her the grace to makes it easier for them to live a Christian life and receive the Eucharist
    • Anointing of the sick
      • It gives: grace, spiritual strength and healing
      • The person is forgiven from their sins before death so they can enter heaven
    • Marriage
      • The practice gives strength for a long-life relationship of love and faithfulness
      • They can procreate and raise their children in a Christian family
    • Holy Orders
      • Gives them strength, grace, and authority to administer the sacraments
  • Divergent Views of the Sacraments
    • Most Protestants- Believe that only the sacraments which were issues by Jesus (Baptism and the Eucharist) are essential
    • Some Protestants (eg. Baptists and Pentecostal)- Believe that, because only adult baptism is referred to in the Bible, they can only be baptised as an adult
2 of 5

2.1 The Sacramental Nature of Reality (sources of

  • CCC- The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace issues by Christ and the first five are essential for salvation
  • CCC- The seven sacraments are the way the Holy Spirit spreads the grace of Christ throughout the Church
  • Canon Law- The sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation and the Eucharist are required for full Christian initiation
  • CCC- Confirmation binds a person perfectly to the Church and enriches the gift of the Holy Spirit
3 of 5

2.2 Catholic Liturgical Worship

  • The Introductory Rite
    • The beginning of the mass when Catholics become aware that they are sinners and they say the Penitential Rite
  • The Liturgy of the Word
    • The congregation stand for the Gospel reading as it contains the words of Christ
  • The Liturgy of the Eucharist
    • The Eucharistic prayer re-enacts the Last Supper and transubstantiation occurs
    • Catholic receive Communion, any leftover hosts are reserved in the tabernacle
  • The Concluding Rite
    • The congregation give thanks for what they have received and they receive a blessing to help them in the week
  • CCC- Its a sin to knowingly miss Sunday Mass and Mass on Holy days of obligation
  • CCC- The Eucharist is the source and summit of the Christian life
4 of 5

2.2 Catholic Liturgical Worship (continued)

  • Importance and significance to Catholics
    • The Eucharist gives grace to live good lives and grow closer to God
    • Mass is a celebration of resurrection, showing Catholics that there is eternal life
    • At the Last Supper Jesus commanded Mass when he said "Do this in memory of me"
5 of 5


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Christianity resources »