Piaget - Contructivist theory


Piaget Theory of Cognitive Development Main Ideas

Schemas - group of memories that are grouped together that help use make sense of the world.

Piaget refers to them as building blocks of intelligent behaviour

Assimilation - changing our schemas to fit in with what we have learnt. 

Accomidation - changing our memories to keep schemas intact.

Equilibruim - the force at which development move along and piaget believed that development didn't progress at a steady rate.

Adaptation - changing thoughts and behaviour due to assimilation and accomidation

1 of 3

Piaget Theory of Cognitive Development Stages

0-2 years - sensorimotor stage - lack object permanance, discovers world with senses 

2-7 years - Pre-operational stage - gradual development as child learns learns through experiences - conservation of quantities develops - egocentric

7-11 years - concreate operational stage - continuous learning as children access mroe information from wider environment 

11 to Adult - more advanced rational thinking skills and problem solve abstractly

2 of 3

Piaget Theory Link To Child Development

  • Children must be given the oppportunity to explore their envrionment using their senses
  • must be given plenty of scope for different experiences 
  • facilliate opportunities for children and adults to mix due to the importance of soical interaction on learning
  • opportunity to relate to other children
  • children must be allowed to resolve conflict themselves
  • Free unstructured play is healthy and essential
  • practionners must support and encourage learning 
  • Children learn by themselves but they learn better when they receive encouragement from adults 
3 of 3


No comments have yet been made

Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »See all Understanding human behaviour and development resources »